Community Education

Mission Statement
The mission of District 518 Community Education is to engage people in lifelong learning; enrich lives through shared experiences; and inspire personal growth and community connections.

The Community Education Classes and Activities catalog is mailed to area residents quarterly and also available online. We hope you will find a class that interests you. To sign up for a class, please call 507-376-6105. Select link to register online.

Monday-Thursday, 8:00 am to 5:00 pm; Friday, 8:00 am to 3:00 pm

News & Updates

  • West Learning Center's Summer Food Program Schedule -

    Summer meals will be available to all children age 18 and younger at the West Learning Center. There is no cost for these meals.  Adults meals are available for $4.00 per meal. Registration is not necessary. Click here for more information and other participating sites.

    June 6-29 Breakfast @ West Learning Center 7:30-8:00 am
    June 11-August 10 Lunch @ West Learning Center 11:30 am-1:00 pm


    Habrá comidas de verano disponibles para todos los niños de 18 años de edad o menores en el edificio West Learning Center. No hay costo por estas comidas. Hay comidas para adultos, disponibles a $4.00 por comida. No es necesario registrarse. Haga clic aquí para ver más información y otros sitios participantes.

    Junio 6-29 Desayuno @ West Learning Center 7:30-8:00 am

    Junio 11-Agosto 10 Almuerzo @ West Learning Center 11:30 am-1:00 pm


  • #Market Smarter – Online Presence, Sales and Growth

    Wednesday, June 20, 2018, 8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. at the Worthington Event Center 

    Keynote speaker Ursula Mentjes, is an award-winning entrepreneur and sales expert. The founder of Sales Coach Now, she is an inspirational speaker and triple best-selling author.

    Included in this daylong event will be several other professional speakers and breakout sessions.

    Click here for complete event information. 

    Cost is $69/person (after June 1, $89/person). Register in advance by calling the Community Education office at 507-376-6105 or online at

  • Mobile Guatemalan Consulate at West Learning Center – May 19 & 20

    The Mobile Guatemalan Consulate was at West Learning Center, May 19 and 20. No appointment necessary.  There was a very large turnout at the event.  Over 1500 people were served over the course of the 2-day mobile visit in Worthington.  We greatly appreciate the 50 individuals who volunteered their time to help at this event!  We could not have served so many people without your significant contributions!

  • Transition Programs held May 7 & 8

    The High School Transition Program for parents of children new to Worthington High School were held on Monday, May 7, 2018, at the Worthington High School.  There were sessions in English, Spanish, and Karen.  Transition sessions were also held at Worthington Middle School on May 8 in multiple languages.  These meetings are hosted annually by the school counselors and bilingual family liaisons. 

  • Fall Spanish PASS Classes Concluded

    PASS classes offered this fall, included two Spanish Prairie Elementary Phase I classes and one Spanish Middle School Phase I class. There were 19 parent graduates. The Prairie Elementary graduations and principal’s dialogue by Heidi Meyer, were held at West Learning Center. A celebration held at the Middle School, included a tour of the school by Jeff Luke, Carrie Adams and Justin Breske. Students presented parents with their PASS certificates, and were able to enjoy lunch together. PASS Phase II classes will be offered to these families in January or March.

RSS Feed