SPECIAL BOARD MEETING

A special meeting of the School Board of Independent School District No. 518, Worthington, Minnesota, was held at the District Administration Office, 1117 Marine Avenue, Worthington, Minnesota on January 6, 2020, at 7:30 a.m.

The following were present: BOARD MEMBERS – Joel Lorenz, Linden Olson, Steve Schnieder, Brad Shaffer, Lori Dudley, Mike Harberts, Adam Blume

ADMINISTRATORS – John Landgaard, Superintendent, Dave Skog, Director of Management Services

- 1. Motion by Member Olson, seconded by Member Schnieder and unanimously passed to approve the agenda for the January 6, 2020, Special School Board meeting with the addition of 17. Purchase of Food Service Van and 18. Resignation agreement.
- 2. Motion by Member Lorenz, seconded by Member Harberts and unanimously passed to approve to keep the following officers the same for the 2020 school year:

	Present Office
Election of Chair	Brad Shaffer
Election of Vice-Chair	Lori Dudley
Election of Clerk	Steve Schnieder
Election of Treasurer	Linden Olson
Director	Joel Lorenz
Director	Adam Blume
Director	Mike Harberts

- 3. Motion by Member Olson, seconded by Member Dudley and unanimously passed to appoint Lisa Ahrenstorff and David Skog Deputy Clerk for January 1, 2020, to January 1, 2021.
- 4. Motion by Member Olson, seconded by Member Dudley and unanimously passed to appoint Pat Morphew and David Skog Deputy Treasurer for January 1, 2020, to January 1, 2021.
- 5. Motion by Member Olson, seconded by Member Dudley and unanimously passed to appoint David Skog as the designated Food Service Authority for January 1, 2020, to January 1, 2021.
- Motion by Member Lorenz, seconded by Member Schnieder and unanimously passed to appoint the following board members to the Instructional Committee for January 1, 2020, to January 1, 2021: Linden Olson
 Lori Dudley
 Adam Blume
- Motion by Member Lorenz, seconded by Member Schnieder and unanimously passed to appoint the following board members to the Operations Committee for January 1, 2020, to January 1, 2021: Joel Lorenz
 Steve Schnieder Mike Harberts

- 8. Motion by Member Lorenz, seconded by Member Dudley and unanimously passed to appoint the following Board Representatives to District 518 Committees: Community Education Advisory Council – Lori Dudley Minnesota State High School League – Adam Blume Worthington-Crailsheim International, Inc. Committee – Lori Dudley MSBA Legislative Liaison – Linden Olson District Technology Committee Board Representative – Brad Shaffer and Mike Harberts MSBA Communication Network – Dave Skog, Alternate – Linden Olson District Staff Development Committee - Lori Dudley and Adam Blume; Alternate-Linden Olson ALC/VIBE Governing Board – Brad Shaffer Cable 3 Joint Powers Board – Steve Schnieder Nobles County Integration Collaborative - Steve Schnieder Joint City, County, College, School Committee - Linden Olson and Lori Dudley; Alternate-Brad Shaffer NEON Committee-Linden Olson and Lori Dudley; Alternate-Brad Shaffer Facilities Sub Committee-Linden Olson, Adam Blume and Steve Schnieder World's Best Workforce Committee-Linden Olson, Alternate-Brad Shaffer
- Motion by Member Lorenz, seconded by Member Harberts to appoint the following board members to the Classified Negotiations Committee for January 1, 2020, to January 1, 2021: Joel Lorenz Steve Schnieder Mike Harberts
- Motion by Member Lorenz, seconded by Member Harberts and unanimously passed to appoint the following board members to the Licensed Negotiations Committee for January 1, 2020, to January 1, 2021: Lori Dudley Linden Olson Adam Blume
- Motion by Member Lorenz, seconded by Member Harberts and unanimously passed to appoint the following board members to the Compensation Committee for January 1, 2020, to January 1, 2021:
 Steve Schnieder
 Joel Lorenz
 Mike Harberts
- Motion by Member Lorenz, seconded by Member Harberts and unanimously passed to appoint the following board members to the Meet and Confer Committee for January 1, 2020, to January 1, 2021:
 Lori Dudley
 Linden Olson
 Adam Blume
- Motion by Member Lorenz, seconded by Member Harberts and unanimously passed to appoint the following board members to the Curriculum and Instruction Committee for January 1, 2020, to January 1, 2021: Lori Dudley Linden Olson Alternate-Adam Blume

- Motion by Member Schnieder, seconded by Member Dudley and unanimously passed to appoint the following board members to the Communications Committee for January 1, 2020, to January 1, 2021:
 Brad Shaffer
 Linden Olson
- 15. Motion by Member Olson, seconded by Member Lorenz and unanimously passed to approve a mileage reimbursement rate equal to the IRS rate per mile for the 2020 year and to approve a maximum meal reimbursement rate of \$50.00 per day for the 2020 year.
- 16. Motion by Member Schnieder, seconded by Member Dudley and unanimously passed to approve compensation for positions of the District 518 School Board for 2020 as follows:

Chairperson	(Present - \$3,450)
Vice Chairperson	(Present - \$3,000)
Clerk	(Present - \$3,200)
Treasurer	(Present - \$3,200)
Directors	(Present - \$2,900)

(Present) – Negotiations, Meetings of Appointed Committees, Special Board Meetings, Board Workshops and meetings of board Members out of region - \$50.00 for up to two hours; \$100.00 for two to four hours; \$160.00 for four to six hours; and \$240.00 for more than six hours up to a full day (not including regular monthly meetings).

- 17. Motion by Member Olson, seconded by Member Lorenz and unanimously passed to authorize purchase of a food service van for \$21,486.00 paid with funds out of the food service account.
- 18. Motion by Member Schnieder, seconded by Member Dudley to accept a teacher's resignation agreement. Motion passed 5 to 2 with Members Olson and Harberts dissenting.

Meeting adjourned at 8:06 a.m.

Steve Schnieder, Clerk

Lisa Ahrenstorff, Deputy Clerk