SPECIAL BOARD MEETING

A special meeting of the School Board of Independent School District No. 518, Worthington, Minnesota, was held at the Worthington High School Media Center, 1211 Clary Street, Worthington, Minnesota on January 4, 2021, at 7:30 a.m.

The following were present: BOARD MEMBERS – Joel Lorenz, Steve Schnieder, Brad Shaffer, Lori Dudley, Mike Harberts, Adam Blume, Tom Prins

ADMINISTRATORS – John Landgaard, Superintendent, Dave Skog, Director of Management Services

- 1. Motion by Member Harberts, seconded by Member Schnieder and unanimously passed to approve the agenda for the January 4, 2021, Special School Board meeting.
- 2. Motion by Member Schnieder, seconded by Member Harberts and unanimously passed to approve Lori Dudley as Board Chair for January 1, 2021, to January 1, 2022,
- 3. Motion by Member Harberts to nominate Steve Schnieder as Vice Chair for January 1, 2021, to January 1, 2022.
 - Motion by Member Schnieder and seconded by Member Blume to decline the nomination of of Steve Schnieder and unanimously passed to approve Joel Lorenz as Vice Chair for January 1, 2021, to January 1, 2022.
- 4. Motion by Member Lorenz, seconded by Member Blume and unanimously passed to approve Steve Schnieder as Clerk for January 1, 2021, to January 1, 2022.
- 5. Motion by Member Schnieder, seconded by Member Lorenz and unanimously passed to approve Brad Shaffer as Treasurer for January 1, 2021, to January 1, 2022.
- 6. Motion by Member Shaffer, seconded by Member Harberts and unanimously passed to appoint Lisa Ahrenstorff and David Skog Deputy Clerk for January 1, 2021, to January 1, 2022.
- 7. Motion by Member Blume, seconded by Member Schnieder and unanimously passed to appoint Pat Morphew and David Skog Deputy Treasurer for January 1, 2021, to January 1, 2022.
- 8. Motion by Member Schnieder, seconded by Member Harberts and unanimously passed to appoint David Skog as the designated Food Service Authority for January 1, 2021, to January 1, 2022.
- 9. Motion by Member Blume, seconded by Member Harberts and unanimously passed to appoint the following board members to the Instructional Committee for January 1, 2021, to January 1, 2022:

Brad Shaffer

Adam Blume

Tom Prins

10. Motion by Member Schnieder, seconded by Member Lorenz and unanimously passed to appoint the following board members to the Operations Committee for January 1, 2021, to January 1, 2022:

Joel Lorenz

Steve Schnieder

Mike Harberts

11. Motion by Member Blume, seconded by Member Harberts and unanimously passed to appoint the following Board Representatives to District 518 Committees:

Communications Committee-Brad Shaffer and Tom Prins

Community Education Advisory Council – Lori Dudley

Minnesota State High School League – Adam Blume

Worthington-Crailsheim International, Inc. Committee – Lori Dudley

MSBA Legislative Liaison – Steve Schnieder

District Technology Committee Board Representative – Brad Shaffer and Mike Harberts

MSBA Communication Network – Dave Skog, Alternate – Tom Prins

District Staff Development Committee – Lori Dudley and Adam Blume; Alternate-Tom Prins

Learning Center/VIBE Governing Board – Brad Shaffer

Cable 3 Joint Powers Board – Steve Schnieder

Nobles County Integration Collaborative – Steve Schnieder

Joint City, County, College, School Committee -Adam Blume and Lori Dudley; Alternate-Brad Shaffer

NEON Committee- Lori Dudley and Tom Prins; Alternate-Brad Shaffer

Facilities Sub Committee-Adam Blume, Steve Schnieder and Mike Harberts

World's Best Workforce Committee-Brad Shaffer, Alternate-Mike Harberts

Community Education Building Planning Committee-Adam Blume and Brad Shaffer

Bond Oversite Committee-Lori Dudley and Steve Schnieder

12. Motion by Member Harberts, seconded by Member Lorenz and unanimously passed to appoint the following board members to the Classified Negotiations Committee for January 1, 2021, to January 1, 2022:

Joel Lorenz

Steve Schnieder

Mike Harberts

13. Motion by Member Blume, seconded by Member Prins and unanimously passed to appoint the following board members to the Licensed Negotiations Committee for January 1, 2021, to January 1, 2022:

Brad Shaffer

Adam Blume

Tom Prins

14. Motion by Member Harberts, seconded by Member Lorenz and unanimously passed to appoint the following board members to the Compensation Committee for January 1, 2021, to January 1, 2022:

Steve Schnieder

Joel Lorenz

Mike Harberts

15. Motion by Member Schnieder, seconded by Member Brad Shaffer and unanimously passed to appoint the following board members to the Meet and Confer Committee for January 1, 2021, to January 1, 2022:

Adam Blume

Brad Shaffer

Tom Prins

16. Motion by Member Schnieder, seconded by Member Harberts and unanimously passed to appoint the following board members to the Curriculum and Instruction Committee for January 1, 2021, to January 1, 2022:

Lori Dudley

Adam Blume

Alternate-Tom Prins

- 17. Motion by Member Schnieder, seconded by Member Shaffer and unanimously passed to approve a mileage reimbursement rate equal to the IRS rate per mile for the 2021 year.
- 18. Motion by Member Lorenz, seconded by Member Shaffer and unanimously passed to approve a maximum meal reimbursement rate of \$50.00 per day for the 2021 year.
- 19. Motion by Member Schnieder, seconded by Member Harberts and unanimously passed to approve compensation for positions of the District 518 School Board for 2021 as follows:

Chairperson	\$3,650
Vice Chairperson	\$3,200
Clerk	\$3,400
Treasurer	\$3,400
Directors	\$3,100

Negotiations, Meetings of Appointed Committees, Special Board Meetings, Board Workshops and meetings of board Members out of region - \$50.00 for up to two hours; \$100.00 for two to four hours; \$160.00 for four to six hours; and \$240.00 for more than six hours up to a full day (not including regular monthly meetings).

- 20. Motion by Member Shaffer, seconded by Member Schnieder and unanimously passed to approve the January 2021 calendar through February 5, 2021, as presented and readdressing this item at the January 19, 2021 school board meeting.
- 21. Motion by Member Blume, seconded by Member Lorenz and unanimously passed to approve the Budget Calendar and Assumptions.

Into closed session for a personnel item at 8:19 a.m.

Returned to open session at 8:43 a.m.

Meeting adjourned at 8:45 a.m.

Steve Schnieder, Clerk