SPECIAL BOARD MEETING

A special meeting of the School Board of Independent School District No. 518, Worthington, Minnesota, was held at the Worthington High School Media Center, 1211 Clary Street, Worthington, Minnesota on January 3, 2022, at 7:30 a.m.

The following were present: BOARD MEMBERS – Joel Lorenz, Steve Schnieder, Brad Shaffer, Lori Dudley, Adam Blume, Tom Prins. Absent – Mike Harberts.

ADMINISTRATORS – John Landgaard, Superintendent, Dave Skog, Director of Management Services

- 1. Motion by Member Shaffer, seconded by Member Schnieder and unanimously passed to approve the agenda for the January 3, 2022, Special School Board meeting with the addition of item 16.0 COVID-19 Vaccination Policy.
- 2. Motion by Member Schnieder, seconded by Member Lorenz and unanimously passed to approve the following Officer and Director positions:
 - a. Lori Dudley as Board Chair for January 1, 2022, to January 1, 2023.
 - b. Joel Lorenz as Vice Chair for January 1, 2022, to January 1, 2023
 - c. Steve Schnieder as Clerk for January 1, 2022, to January 1, 2023.
 - d. Brad Shaffer as Treasurer for January 1, 2022, to January 1, 2023.
 - e. Tom Prins as Director for January 1, 2022, to January 1, 2023.
 - f. Adam Blume as Director for January 1, 2022, to January 1, 2023.
 - g. Mike Harberts as Director for January 1, 2022 to January 1, 2023.
- 3. Motion by Member Schnieder, seconded by Member Blume and unanimously passed to appoint Lisa Ahrenstorff and David Skog Deputy Clerk for January 1, 2022, to January 1, 2023.
- 4. Motion by Member Shaffer, seconded by Member Prins and unanimously passed to appoint Pat Morphew and David Skog Deputy Treasurer for January 1, 2022, to January 1, 2023.
- 5. Motion by Member Schnieder, seconded by Member Prins and unanimously passed to appoint David Skog as the designated Food Service Authority for January 1, 2022, to January 1, 2023.
- Motion by Member Shaffer, seconded by Member Prins and unanimously passed to appoint the following board members to the Instructional Committee for January 1, 2022, to January 1, 2023:
 Brad Shaffer
 Adam Blume
 Tom Prins

and to appoint the following board members to the Operations Committee for January 1, 2022, to January 1, 2023: Joel Lorenz Steve Schnieder Mike Harberts 7. Motion by Member Lorenz, seconded by Member Blume and unanimously passed to appoint the following Board Representatives to District 518 Committees:

Communications Committee-Brad Shaffer and Tom Prins Community Education Advisory Council – Lori Dudley Minnesota State High School League - Adam Blume Worthington-Crailsheim International, Inc. Committee - Lori Dudley MSBA Legislative Liaison – Steve Schnieder District Technology Committee Board Representative - Brad Shaffer and Mike Harberts MSBA Communication Network - Dave Skog, Alternate - Tom Prins District Staff Development Committee - Lori Dudley and Adam Blume; Alternate-Tom Prins Learning Center/VIBE Governing Board – Brad Shaffer Cable 3 Joint Powers Board - Steve Schnieder Nobles County Integration Collaborative - Steve Schnieder Joint City, County, College, School Committee -Adam Blume and Lori Dudley; Alternate-**Brad Shaffer** NEON Committee- Lori Dudley and Tom Prins; Alternate-Brad Shaffer Facilities Sub Committee-Adam Blume, Steve Schnieder and Mike Harberts World's Best Workforce Committee-Brad Shaffer, Alternate-Mike Harberts Community Education Building Planning Committee-Adam Blume and Brad Shaffer Bond Oversite Committee-Lori Dudley and Steve Schnieder

- Motion by Member Schnieder, seconded by Member Lorenz and unanimously passed to appoint the following board members to the Classified Negotiations Committee for January 1, 2022, to January 1, 2023: Joel Lorenz Steve Schnieder Mike Harberts
- Motion by Member Schnieder, seconded by Member Prins and unanimously passed to appoint the following board members to the Licensed Negotiations Committee for January 1, 2022, to January 1, 2023: Brad Shaffer Adam Blume Tom Prins
- Motion by Member Blume, seconded by Member Shaffer and unanimously passed to appoint the following board members to the Compensation Committee for January 1, 2022, to January 1, 2023:
 Steve Schnieder
 Joel Lorenz
 Mike Harberts
- Motion by Member Blume, seconded by Member Lorenz and unanimously passed to appoint the following board members to the Meet and Confer Committee for January 1, 2022, to January 1, 2023:
 Adam Blume
 Brad Shaffer
 Tom Prins

- Motion by Member Schnieder, seconded by Member Blume and unanimously passed to appoint the following board members to the Curriculum and Instruction Committee for January 1, 2022, to January 1, 2023:
 Lori Dudley
 Adam Blume
 Alternate-Tom Prins
- 13. Motion by Member Schnieder, seconded by Member Blume and unanimously passed to approve a mileage reimbursement rate equal to the IRS rate per mile for the 2022 year.
- 14. Motion by Member Prins, seconded by Member Lorenz and unanimously passed to approve a maximum meal reimbursement rate of \$50.00 per day for the 2022 year.
- 15. Motion by Member Schnieder, seconded by Member Blume and unanimously passed to approve compensation for positions of the District 518 School Board for 2022 as follows:

Chairperson	\$3,850
Vice Chairperson	\$3,400
Clerk	\$3,600
Treasurer	\$3,600
Directors	\$3,300

Negotiations, Meetings of Appointed Committees, Special Board Meetings, Board Workshops and meetings of board Members out of region - \$60.00 for up to two hours; \$120.00 for two to four hours; \$180.00 for four to six hours; and \$240.00 for more than six hours up to a full day (not including regular monthly meetings).

 Motion by Member Schnieder, seconded by Member Shaffer to approve Policy 491-Mandatory COVID-19 Vaccination or Testing and Face Coverings. Motion passed 5-1 with Member Prins dissenting

Meeting adjourned at 7:54 a.m.

Steve Schnieder, Clerk

David Skog, Deputy Clerk