SPECIAL BOARD MEETING

A special meeting of the School Board of Independent School District No. 518, Worthington, Minnesota, was held at the West Building Conference Room, 117 11th Avenue, Worthington, Minnesota on January 9, 2023, at 7:30 a.m.

The following were present: BOARD MEMBERS – Joel Lorenz, Steve Schnieder, Brad Shaffer, Lori Dudley, Adam Blume, Tom Prins, Erin Schutte

ADMINISTRATORS – John Landgaard, Superintendent, Dave Skog, Director of Management Services

- 1. Motion by Member Schnieder, seconded by Member Blume and unanimously passed to approve the agenda for the January 9, 2023, Special School Board meeting with the addition of 2.1 Resignation of Brad Shaffer, School Board Member.
- 2. Motion by Member Shaffer, seconded by Member Blume and unanimously passed to approve the resignation of Brad Shaffer, School Board Member, effective January 31, 2023.
- 3. Motion by Member Shaffer, seconded by Member Blume and unanimously passed to approve Joel Lorenz as Board Chair for January 1, 2023, to January 1, 2024.
- 4. Motion by Member Shaffer, seconded by Member Dudley and unanimously passed to approve Adam Blume as Vice Chair for January 1, 2023, to January 1, 2024.
- 5. Motion by Member Shaffer, seconded by Member Prins and unanimously passed to approve Steve Schnieder as Clerk for January 1, 2023, to January 1, 2024.
- 6. Motion by Member Shaffer, seconded by Member Prins and unanimously passed to approve Lori Dudley as Treasurer for January 1, 2023, to January 1, 2024.
- 7. Motion by Member Prins, seconded by Member Dudley and unanimously passed to appoint Lisa Ahrenstorff and David Skog Deputy Clerk for January 1, 2023, to January 1, 2024.
- 8. Motion by Member Blume, seconded by Member Dudley and unanimously passed to appoint Pat Morphew and David Skog Deputy Treasurer for January 1, 2023, to January 1, 2024.
- 9. Motion by Member Blume, seconded by Member Prins and unanimously passed to appoint David Skog as the designated Food Service Authority for January 1, 2023, to January 1, 2024.
- Motion by Member Shaffer, seconded by Member Schnieder and unanimously passed to appoint the following board members to the Instructional Committee for January 1, 2023, to January 1, 2024:
 Brad Shaffer
 Lori Dudley
 Tom Prins

Motion by Member Schnieder, seconded by Member Prins and unanimously passed to appoint the following board members to the Operations Committee for January 1, 2023, to January 1, 2024:
 Adam Blume

Steve Schnieder Erin Schutte

12. Motion by Member Schnieder, seconded by Member Dudley and unanimously passed to appoint the following Board Representatives to District 518 Committees:

Communications Committee-Brad Shaffer and Tom Prins, Alternate-Erin Schutte Community Education Advisory Council - Erin Schutte Minnesota State High School League – Adam Blume Worthington-Crailsheim International, Inc. Committee – Lori Dudley MSBA Legislative Liaison – Erin Schutte District Technology Committee Board Representative - Brad Shaffer and Adam Blume MSBA Communication Network – Dave Skog, Alternate – Tom Prins District Staff Development Committee – Lori Dudley and Adam Blume; Alternate-Tom Prins Learning Center/VIBE Governing Board – Lori Dudley Cable 3 Joint Powers Board - Steve Schnieder Nobles County Integration Collaborative – Steve Schnieder Joint City, County, College, School Committee -Tom Prins and Lori Dudley; Alternate-Erin Schutte Facilities Sub Committee-Adam Blume, Steve Schnieder and Tom Prins World's Best Workforce Committee-Adam Blume, Alternate-Lori Dudley Bond Oversite Committee-Lori Dudley and Steve Schnieder

- Motion by Member Shaffer, seconded by Member Schnieder and unanimously passed to appoint the following board members to the Classified Negotiations Committee for January 1, 2023, to January 1, 2024:
 Adam Blume Steve Schnieder Erin Schutte
- Motion by Member Shaffer, seconded by Member Prins and unanimously passed to appoint the following board members to the Licensed Negotiations Committee for January 1, 2023, to January 1, 2024:
 Joel Lorenz
 Lori Dudley
 Tom Prins
- Motion by Member Dudley, seconded by Member Schnieder and unanimously passed to appoint the following board members to the Compensation Committee for January 1, 2023, to January 1, 2024:
 Steve Schnieder
 Adam Blume
 Erin Schutte

- Motion by Member Shaffer, seconded by Member Dudley and unanimously passed to appoint the following board members to the Meet and Confer Committee for January 1, 2023, to January 1, 2024: Lori Dudley Joel Lorenz Tom Prins
- Motion by Member Prins, seconded by Member Shaffer and unanimously passed to appoint the following board members to the Curriculum and Instruction Committee for January 1, 2023, to January 1, 2024:
 Lori Dudley
 Adam Blume
 Alternate-Tom Prins
- 18. Motion by Member Schnieder, seconded by Member Blume and unanimously passed to approve a mileage reimbursement rate equal to the IRS rate per mile for the 2023 year.
- 19. Motion by Member Schnieder, seconded by Member Schutte and unanimously passed to approve a maximum meal reimbursement rate of \$50.00 per day for the 2023 year.
- 20. Motion by Member Schnieder, seconded by Member Shaffer and unanimously passed to approve compensation for positions of the District 518 School Board for 2023 as follows:

\$4,300
\$4,050
\$4,050
\$4,050
\$3,750

Negotiations, Meetings of Appointed Committees, Special Board Meetings, Board Workshops and meetings of board Members out of region - \$60.00 for up to two hours; \$120.00 for two to four hours; \$180.00 for four to six hours; and \$240.00 for more than six hours up to a full day (not including regular monthly meetings).

21. Motion by Member Schnieder, seconded by Member Dudley to approve student expulsion. Motion passed by roll call vote 7 to 0. Resolution is on file in the District Office.

Meeting adjourned at 8:10 a.m.

Steve Schnieder, Clerk

Lisa Ahrenstorff, Deputy Clerk