## **SPECIAL BOARD MEETING**

A special meeting of the School Board of Independent School District No. 518, Worthington, Minnesota, was held at the District Office, 1117 Marine Avenue, Worthington, Minnesota on January 8, 2024, at 7:00 a.m.

The following were present: BOARD MEMBERS – Joel Lorenz, Steve Schnieder, Tom Prins, Erin Schutte, Matt Widboom, Absent-Adam Blume and Lori Dudley

ADMINISTRATORS – John Landgaard, Superintendent, Dave Skog, Director of Operations, Josh Noble, Director of Instruction

- 1. Motion by Member Schnieder, seconded by Member Prins and unanimously passed to approve the agenda for the January 8, 2024, Special School Board meeting.
- 2. Motion by Member Schnieder, seconded by Member Prins and unanimously passed to approve Joel Lorenz as Board Chair for January 1, 2024, to January 1, 2025, Adam Blume as Vice Chair for January 1, 2024, to January 1, 2024, to January 1, 2024, to January 1, 2025, Lori Dudley as Treasurer for January 1, 2024, to January 1, 2025, and Tom Prins, Erin Schutte and Matt Widboom as Directors for January 1, 2024, to January 1, 2025.
- 3. Motion by Member Schnieder, seconded by Member Schutte and unanimously passed to appoint Lisa Ahrenstorff and David Skog Deputy Clerk for January 1, 2024, to January 1, 2025.
- 4. Motion by Member Schnieder, seconded by Member Schutte and unanimously passed to appoint Ryan Swanson and David Skog Deputy Treasurer for January 1, 2024, to January 1, 2025.
- 5. Motion by Member Schnieder, seconded by Member Schutte and unanimously passed to appoint David Skog as the designated Food Service Authority for January 1, 2024, to January 1, 2025.
- 6. Motion by Member Prins, seconded by Member Widboom and unanimously passed to appoint the following board members to the Instructional Committee for January 1, 2024, to January 1, 2025:

Lori Dudley Tom Prins Matt Widboom

7. Motion by Member Prins, seconded by Member Widboom and unanimously passed to appoint the following board members to the Operations Committee for January 1, 2024, to January 1, 2025:

Adam Blume Steve Schnieder Erin Schutte 8. Motion by Member Schnieder, seconded by Member Prins and unanimously passed to appoint the following Board Representatives to District 518 Committees for January 1, 2024, to January 1, 2025:

Communications Committee-Erin Schutte and Tom Prins

Community Education Advisory Council – Erin Schutte

Minnesota State High School League – Adam Blume

Worthington-Crailsheim International, Inc. Committee – Lori Dudley

MSBA Legislative Liaison – Erin Schutte

District Technology Committee Board Representative – Tom Prins and Adam Blume

MSBA Communication Network – Dave Skog, Alternate – Tom Prins

District Staff Development Committee – Matt Widboom and Adam Blume; Alternate-Tom Prins

Learning Center/VIBE Governing Board – Lori Dudley

Cable 3 Joint Powers Board – Steve Schnieder

Nobles County Integration Collaborative – Steve Schnieder

Joint City, County, College, School Committee -Tom Prins and Lori Dudley; Alternate-Erin Schutte

Facilities Sub Committee-Adam Blume, Steve Schnieder and Tom Prins

World's Best Workforce Committee-Adam Blume, Alternate-Lori Dudley

9. Motion by Member Schnieder, seconded by Member Prins and unanimously passed to appoint the following board members to the Classified Negotiations Committee for January 1, 2024, to January 1, 2025:

Adam Blume

Steve Schnieder

Erin Schutte

10. Motion by Member Schnieder, seconded by Member Prins and unanimously passed to appoint the following board members to the Licensed Negotiations Committee for January 1, 2024, to January 1, 2025:

Lori Dudley

Matt Widboom

**Tom Prins** 

11. Motion by Member Widboom, seconded by Member Schutte and unanimously passed to appoint the following board members to the Compensation Committee for January 1, 2024, to January 1, 2025:

Steve Schnieder

Adam Blume

Erin Schutte

12. Motion by Member Schnieder, seconded by Member Widboom and unanimously passed to appoint the following board members to the Meet and Confer Committee for January 1, 2024, to January 1, 2025:

Lori Dudley

Matt Widboom

**Tom Prins** 

13. Motion by Member Prins, seconded by Member Widboom and unanimously passed to appoint the following board members to the Curriculum and Instruction Committee for January 1, 2024, to January 1, 2025:

Lori Dudley Adam Blume

**Alternate-Tom Prins** 

- 14. Motion by Member Schnieder, seconded by Member Prins and unanimously passed to approve a mileage reimbursement rate equal to the IRS rate per mile for the 2024 year.
- 15. Motion by Member Schnieder, seconded by Member Schutte and unanimously passed to approve a maximum meal reimbursement rate of \$75.00 per day for the 2024 year.
- 16. Motion by Member Schnieder, seconded by Member Widboom and unanimously passed to approve compensation for positions of the District 518 School Board for 2024 as follows:

Chairperson	\$4,900
Vice Chairperson	\$4,650
Clerk	\$4,650
Treasurer	\$4,650
Directors	\$4,350

Negotiations, Meetings of Appointed Committees, Special Board Meetings, Board Workshops and meetings of board Members out of region - \$70.00 for up to two hours; \$140.00 for two to four hours; \$210.00 for four to six hours; and \$280.00 for more than six hours up to a full day (not including regular monthly meetings).

Meeting adjourned at 7:22 a.m.

Steve Schnieder, Clerk

Lisa Ahrenstorff, Deputy Clerk