SPECIAL BOARD MEETING

A special joint City and School Ice Arena meeting of the School Board of Independent School District No. 518, Worthington, Minnesota, was held at the Worthington High School Band Room, 1211 Clary Street, Worthington, Minnesota on January 25, 2024, at 6:00 p.m.

The following were present:

SCHOOL BOARD MEMBERS – Joel Lorenz, Steve Schnieder, Lori Dudley, Erin Schutte, Matt Widboom, Tom Prins, Adam Blume

WORTHINGTON CITY COUNCIL – Mayor Rick VonHoldt, Amy Ernst, Chad Cummings, Alaina Kolpin, Larry Janssen, Chris Kielblock

WORTHINGTON HOCKEY ASSOCIATION – Jason Johnson, Jay Milbrandt

ADMINISTRATORS – John Landgaard, Superintendent, Steve Robinson, City Administrator, Dave Skog Director of Operations

- 1. The meeting was called to order by Mayor VonHoldt and Board Chair Lorenz.
- 2. Motion by Council Member Kielblock, seconded by Council Member Kolpin and unanimously passed to approve the agenda for the January 25, 2024, Special School Board ice arena discussion meeting.
- 3. Motion by Member Widboom, seconded by Member Dudley and unanimously passed to approve the agenda for the January 25, 2024, Special School Board ice arena discussion meeting.
- 4. Mr. Landgaard reviewed the goal of the meeting which was for the boards to decide on what the venue would be and the funding commitments by each of the entities involved and whether it would have one or two sheets of ice.

The boards discussed the need for a concerted community effort in seeking donations to help fund a new event arena/complex. Mr. Johnson indicated the Worthington Hockey Association would make its best effort in seeking up to \$1 million dollars in donations to put towards the cost of a new ice arena/event complex.

The boards also discussed gathering other examples of new ice arenas that were built in the state with costs associated with building those facilities.

It was decided that all entities meet separately again and to come back with a dollar amount each board would be willing to contribute.

Meeting adjourned at 7:18 p.m.

Steve Schnieder, Clerk

Lisa Ahrenstorff, Deputy Clerk